Richmond Tennis Club Minutes of the Annual General Meeting November 4, 2020

The Annual General Meeting of the Richmond Tennis Club was held on November 4, 2020 in the bubble. The meeting was called to order by president Kim Jensen at 7:00 p.m.

Quorum Report

The attendance sheets showed 27 members present. This exceeds the minimum number of 20 voting members required for a quorum.

Approval of the Agenda

Moved by Moe Rahemtulla that the Agenda be approved. Seconded by Lesley Wint. Carried.

Adoption of the Minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting

Moved by Vic Chen that the minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting be adopted as presented. Seconded by Patricia Jarvis. Carried.

Adoption of the Review Engagement Report

A question was asked about how much of the funds secured for the bubble were used for the bubble. It was explained that the bubble was \$20,000 under budget and those funds were used to pay for other projects in the Club's capital budget.

Moved by Ian Merkel that the Review Engagement Report be adopted as presented. Seconded by Lesley Wint. Carried.

Review of the 2020/2021 Budget

There were no questions about the Budget

Discussion of the Directors and Committee Reports

A question was asked as to whether the \$383,000 shown as cash on the Balance Sheet was a current figure. It was explained that about \$80,000 had been spent since then. Moved by Ashok Mathur to accept the reports as presented. Seconded by Vic Chen. Carried.

Election and Installation of Officers

The nominating committee was Andrew Mrozowski, Ashok Mathur and David Yeung.

Kim Jensen, Jeanne Jensen resigned from the Board. Ann Nykyforuk had resigned earlier. Henry Fu and Michelle Zhang had ceased to become members mid-year.

There was only one nomination for each of the following positions and therefore the following members were declared elected:

President:	Graham Taylor
Vice-President:	Andrew Mrozowski
Treasurer:	Nora Yan
Secretary:	Wendy Banham
Director of Instructional Programs:	Ashok Mathur
Maintenance Director:	David Van Den Kerkhof
Club Tournament Director:	Angela Xu
Open Tournament Director:	Michelle Delory
Social Director:	Patricia Jarvis
Membership Director:	David Price
Social Media Director:	Marzena Wiese
League Director:	Richard Zhang
Rules and Regulations Director:	Moe Rahemtulla

Moved by Luc Hervieux that the slate for the Board of Directors be accepted. Seconded by Gordon Riffell. Carried.

New Business

The following Motion was moved by the chair:

Be it resolved that The Richmond Tennis Club adopt the following schedule of fees and dues to come into effect on December 1, 2020:

Full Membership Entrance Fee: \$600 (\$100 increase)

Outdoor Membership Entrance Fee: \$300 (\$25 increase)

Full Adult Membership Dues: \$840 (\$120 increase)

Outdoor Adult Membership Dues \$300 (\$25 increase)

Full Intermediate Membership Dues: \$550 (\$50 increase)

Outdoor Intermediate membership Dues: \$200 (\$20 increase)

Junior Membership Dues: (\$100 (no increase)

Social Membership Dues: \$75 (no increase)

Questions were asked about whether the fee increases were reasonable considering the amount of money the Club has in the bank and the number of court hours used for coaching and by the public. It was explained that coaching and public play are revenue sources that defray the costs of the 209 members. It was acknowledged that balance has to be achieved between all these considerations.

The motion as moved was seconded by David Van Den Kerkhof. Carried.

A member asked about extending available hours to midnight and reducing the amount of public hours on Friday afternoons. The suggestions were taken under advisement.

Lesley Wint extended her thanks to Kim and Jeanne Jensen for their excellent service over the years.

Adjournment:

Moved by Luc Hervieux that the meeting be adjourned. Carried.

Meeting adjourned at 7:30